BULLETIN – Fincher’s ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ is sounding better

Today six free tracks have been made available from Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross’ score to David Fincher’s upcoming remake/adaption, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011). Atmospheric, pulsating and haunting, I must admit these tracks are rather good, despite my reservations concerning the very idea of the film. Niels Arden Oplev’s Swedish version, released two years ago, had nearly everything; great casting, tense storytelling and production values to rival Hollywood. In fact, the only thing obviously missing, to the bewilderment of multiplex audiences, was people speaking in English.

Step in Fincher, everybody’s favourite pessimist, to right this error. To maintain a facade of authenticity we can still have characters speaking in Swedish accents, just as long as the bloody words are English. And for God’s sake let’s get some star power behind it – all those weird old people in Oplev’s film were never going to draw audiences away from Twilight (2008).

Of course, I can’t judge a film before seeing it, but the context can piss me off. And I know from the trailer that it has Fincher’s trademark look, where half the scenes are swamped in murky greens and browns, as if the lighting rigs broke halfway through filming and Fincher just went on without them. At least if I find myself in a cinema really taking against Fincher’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo I can just close my eyes and listen to the score.

"And it wasn't until I got home that I realised I'd accidently bought green light bulbs"

By James Taylor

Leave a Reply

